aspect-ratio 10x9 HfG Karlsruhe is located in a former ammunition factory

HfG Karlsruhe is located in a former ammunition factory, Photo: Evi Künstle (© HfG Karlsruhe)

A unique combination of artistic, design and theoretical subjects makes studying at Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design especially varied and exciting for professional careers in the future. With communication design, product design, media art, exhibition design, and scenography, as well as art research, media theory, and media philosophy, the university presents itself as an art school of a particular type that has increasingly developed since the early 1990s in Europe, the United States, and Japan.

Common to all courses is the inter-disciplinary project work practiced from the beginning, allowing for an ideal combination of theory and praxis that reflects the teaching concept of the university. The cooperation with neighboring ZKM | Center for Art and Media underlines the inter-disciplinary focus of the school. Internationally renowned professors and artists ensure excellent teaching while maintaining its international profile. Well-equipped studios and workshops guarantee a highly innovative environment for the nurture of experimentation.

A prominent feature of the university is the building itself. The school is housed in a former industrial building together with ZKM. The atriums, light bridges, and adjoining rooms offer unique spaces for events and exhibition. At the present time, the university offers its circa 400 students not only excellent studying conditions, but it also still offers Diplom or Magister degrees – one of the few in Germany to still do so. With these internationally recognized certificates and a wide range of project-based courses, graduates are prepared to an optimum standard after their academic studies for their professional requirements.

Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design was inaugurated on April 15, 1992. It was founded by Professor Dr. Heinrich Klotz between the years 1989 to 1992 together with ZKM | Center for Art and Media in Karlsruhe. This unique combination of teaching-, research-, and exhibition-institutions takes into account the new artistic and pedagogic task of bringing traditional arts together with media technology and electronic production processes.

On January 28, 2008 the German Council of Science and Humanities awarded Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design for its excellent educational concept after a comprehensive evaluation. The council especially highlighted its ability to innovate, its flexibility and the social competence of its students, colleagues and teachers. It also praised the exceptional range of courses on offer with which the school was able to establish itself as a leading education and research centre. The modern organizational structure of the school as well as the countless cooperations with international educational institutions – particularly with neighboring ZKM | Center for Art and Media – were also acknowledged. The university takes this excellent evaluation above all as an obligation for the future.

Since February 2016, the university is directed by Prof. Dr. Siegfried Zielinski as rector.

aspect-ratio 10x9 Die HfG Karlsruhe befindet sich in einer ehemaligen Munitionsfabrik

Die HfG Karlsruhe befindet sich in einer ehemaligen Munitionsfabrik, Foto: Evi Künstle (© HfG Karlsruhe)

Eine einzigartige Verknüpfung von künstlerischen, gestalterischen und theoretischen Fächern macht das Studium an der HfG Karlsruhe besonders vielseitig und für künftige professionelle Tätigkeiten spannend. Mit Kommunikationsdesign, Produktdesign, Medienkunst, Ausstellungsdesign und Szenografie sowie Kunstwissenschaft, Medientheorie und Medienphilosophie präsentiert sich die HfG als Kunsthochschule besonderen Typs, wie er sich seit den frühen 1990ern in Europa, den USA und Japan verstärkt entwickelt hat.

Allen Studiengängen gemeinsam ist die von Beginn an praktizierte, oftmals gezielt fächerübergreifende Projektarbeit. Damit ermöglicht das Lehrkonzept der HfG den Studierenden eine optimale Verbindung von Theorie und Praxis. Auch die Kooperation mit dem benachbarten ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien verdeutlicht die interdisziplinäre Ausrichtung der Hochschule. International renommierte Professorinnen und Professoren, Künstlerinnen und Künstler stehen für eine exzellente Lehre und das internationale Profil der HfG. Bestens ausgestattete Studios und Werkstätten sind Garant für eine außergewöhnliche und innovationsfreudige Kultur des Experiments.

Ein markantes Erkennungszeichen der HfG ist ihr Gebäude. Die Hochschule ist zusammen mit dem ZKM in einem ehemaligen Industriebau untergebracht. Lichthöfe, Lichtbrücken und angrenzende Räumlichkeiten bieten einmalige Veranstaltungs- und Ausstellungsmöglichkeiten. Die HfG bietet ihren derzeit rund 400 Studierenden nicht nur ausgezeichnete Studienbedingungen, sondern vergibt auch als eine der wenigen Hochschulen in Deutschland noch den Diplom- bzw. Magisterabschluss. Mit diesen international anerkannten Abschlüssen und einem vielseitigen, projektorientierten Studium sind die AbsolventInnen der HfG bestens auf die professionellen Anforderungen nach dem akademischen Studium vorbereitet.

Die HfG Karlsruhe wurde am 15. April 1992 eröffnet. Sie wurde gemeinsam mit dem ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien in Karlsruhe während der Jahre 1989 bis 1992 von Professor Dr. Heinrich Klotz gegründet. Diese einmalige Verbindung von Lehr-, Forschungs- und Ausstellungsinstitutionen entspricht der neuen künstlerischen und pädagogischen Aufgabe, die traditionellen Künste auf die Medientechnologie und die elektronischen Herstellungsverfahren zu beziehen.

Am 28. Januar 2008 bescheinigte der Wissenschaftsrat im Rahmen einer umfassenden Evaluation der HfG Karlsruhe ein ausgezeichnetes Bildungskonzept. In seiner Bewertung hob der Wissenschaftsrat besonders die Innovationsfähigkeit, Flexibilität und soziale Kompetenz der Studierenden, Mitarbeiter und Lehrenden hervor und lobte das außergewöhnliche Studienangebot, mit dem sich die HfG als leistungsstarke Lehr- und Forschungsstätte etablieren konnte. Gewürdigt wurden außerdem die moderne Organisationsstruktur der Hochschule sowie die zahlreichen Kooperation mit internationalen Bildungseinrichtungen, ganz besonders aber mit dem benachbarten ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien. Die exzellente Bewertung begreift die Hochschule vor allem als Verpflichtung für die Zukunft.

Seit Februar 2016 leitet Prof. Dr. Siegfried Zielinski als Rektor die Geschicke der Hochschule.